Cool Walk

Oscar Peterson

Tokyo, 1987

Oscar Peterson performs his own composition “Cool Walk” at a 1987 concert in Tokyo. The tune appeared on Peterson’s album from the prior year, “Time After Time.”

Peterson, perhaps best known for his trio work, formed the first version of the quartet seen here in 1974. In the late ’80s, bassist Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen was replaced by Dave Young.


Oscar Peterson – piano
Joe Pass – guitar
Dave Young – bass
Martin Drew – drums