Barcelona Live

Gil Evans Orchestra

A full live set from Gil Evans

Click here to Support Jazz on the Tube

In the 1970s, arranger-keyboardist Gil Evans created a new form of fusion, one that evolved from his earlier big band arrangements and sounded unlike any other ensemble.

At the 1976 Barcelona Jazz Festival, Evans led an 11-piece group filled with impressive names through a continuous 84-minute set which is included here.

Ranging from Jimi Hendrix’s “Freedom” to Thelonious Monk’s “Rhythm-a-ning,” this rare performance features such notables as trumpeter Lew Soloff, tenor-saxophonist George Adams, Bob Stewart on tuba and Evans himself on electric piano.


Jon Faddis, trumpet
Lew Soloff, trumpet
Janice Robinson, trombone
John Clark, French horn
George Adams, tenor
Bob Stewart, tuba
Gil Evans, electric piano
Pete Levin, synthesizer
Van Manakas, guitar
Mike Richmond, bass
Sue Evans, drums

– Scott Yanow


Click here to Support Jazz on the Tube