The Man I Love

Oscar Peterson Trio

Live in Italy, 1961

Click here to Support Jazz on the Tube

“The Man I Love,” a renowned jazz standard, was originally composed by George Gershwin as part of the score for the 1924 musical “Lady, Be Good.” Over the years, this timeless melody has been embraced by numerous musical icons, including Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James, Benny Goodman, Miles Davis, Sarah Vaughan, and Dinah Washington, who have all offered their own unique interpretations.

Presenting a distinctively vibrant rendition is Oscar Peterson, a talented musician hailing from Canada. In his performance, Peterson infuses the piece with an exuberant energy, showcasing his remarkable flair and artistic sensibility. Throughout his impressive six-decade career, Peterson’s exceptional contributions to music were duly recognized, earning him a total of eight Grammy Awards.

The ensemble accompanying Peterson in this captivating rendition consists of:

Oscar Peterson on piano
Ray Brown on bass
Ed Thigpen on drums


Click here to Support Jazz on the Tube