Miles Davis Quintet

Rome, 1969

The Miles Davis Quintet perform “Directions” at the Teatro Sistina Theater in Rome, Italy on October 27, 1969.

Miles’ “Second Great Quintet,” composed of Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter and Tony Williams, dissolved in the late ’60s as Davis became increasingly interested in rock and funk music.

Despite the loss of many great musicians, Davis’ 1969 quintet shares the same chemistry and balance that made his other groups so impressive. The group’s newest members – Chick Corea, Dave Holland, and Jack DeJohnette – all went on to have distinguished careers of their own.


Miles Davis – trumpet
Wayne Shorter – tenor sax
Chick Corea – electric piano
Dave Holland – bass
Jack DeJohnette – drums