Interview and performance

Art Blakey with Freddie Hubbard solo


Fascinating comments from Art Blakey while on tour in Europe in 1965.

He talks about music, art, truth and how he developed the Jazz Messengers.

Great take away:

“Anything the truth falls on, it will grind into powder.”


Art Blakey, drums
Jaki Byard, piano
Nathan Davis, tenor saxophone
Freddie Hubbard, trumpet
Reggie Workman, bass