Jazz 625

Dizzy Gillespie

London, 1966

Dizzy Gillespie performs on this 1966 episode of the BBC’s Jazz 625.

Gillespie jokingly ran for president two years earlier, promising to rename the White House the “Blues House” and fill his cabinet with Duke Ellington, Louis Armstrong, and Malcolm X.


Dizzy Gillespie – trumpet
James Moody – alto sax/flute
Kenny Barron – piano
Christopher White – bass
Rudy Collins – drums


1. And Then She Stopped
2. Tin Tin Deo
3. Mmm Hmm
4. No More Blues