Satin Doll + 6

Thelonious Monk

Live at the Berlin JazzFest – 1969

Click here to Support Jazz on the Tube

Monk live in Berlin in 1969.

Beautifully filmed, on a great piano, at the height of his powers.

For the last piece, Joe Turner sits in for a two piano conversation and Sarah Vaughan does a number with her trio at the end.

Riches piled on riches.

The first five are solo Monk.

The sixth piece includes Joe Turner.


Thelonious Monk – piano
Joe Turner – piano
Hans Rettenbacher – bass
Stu Martin – drums

And there’s a little bonus at the end: Sarah Vaughan singing “And I Love Him” (Sung to Monk? I like to think so.)


Sarah Vaughan – vocal
Johnny Veith – piano
Gus Mancuso – bass
Eddy Pucci – drums


#1 – Satin Doll
#2 – Sophisticated Lady
#3 – Caravan
#4 – Solitude
#5 – (Monk tune. Name?)
# 6 – Blues For Duke (with Joe Turner)
#7 – And I Love Him (Sarah Vaughn and Trio)


Click here to Support Jazz on the Tube