Jessica’s Birthday

Cannonball Adderley Sextet

Cannonball, Nat, Yusef and Zawinul play bebop

Click here to Support Jazz on the Tube

The 1963 Cannonball Adderley Sextet was one of the great bands of the time, an ensemble featuring three distinctive soloists in altoist Adderley, cornetist Nat Adderley and Yusef Lateef on several instruments.

The band romps on a hard-swinging version of Quincy Jones’ “Jessica’s Birthday.”

Cannonball, Nat, Lateef (on tenor) and Joe Zawinul (who is featured playing effective bebop piano) all take heated solos while backing each other with equally fiery riffs.

Sam Jones’ unselfishly swinging bass is also a major asset.

Great fun.


Cannonball Adderley, alto sax
Nat Adderley, cornet
Yusef Lateef, tenor sax
Joe Zawinul, piano
Sam Jones, bass
Louis Hayes, drums

– Scott Yanow


Click here to Support Jazz on the Tube